Wonderful tart lemons all spring long. Image found via Wikimedia Commons.

Now that spring is here, I’m on a lemon spree.

It started off innocently enough with garlic lemon chicken. Not my best creation, but a tasty springtime dinner nonetheless. I love garlic, lemon and chicken. For a quick chicken fix, I sauteed chopped garlic in oil for about two minutes, added boneless, skinless chicken tenders to the pan. Grilled the chicken for about 5 minutes on each side until it was cooked through. As the chicken grilled, I added salt, pepper and rosemary to the mix. Then just before the chicken finished I squeezed a lemon over the pan. The grilled chicken paired nicely with spinach and tomato for a light crisp meal.

But I can’t give up on my favorite: desserts.

Next I moved on to lemon crinkle cookies. They were light and crunchy with a chewy center. I even rolled a few in coconut for an extra exotic kick. Another batch was turned into cookie ice cream sandwiches with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream on each tiny cookie. I loved the extra creamy sweetness of the ice cream alongside the tart lemon sweet. The cookies were easy to make and totally worth all 20 minutes of effort.

This week in the test kitchen it’s whiskey sour cupcakes.

Of course for some pre-testing, I had to try making my very own old fashioned whiskey sours. I’ve never much cared for a bar-made whisky sours. (Sweet and sour mix is the worst!) But between Zed and Chef Andrew’s love of this classic cocktail, it has long been on the “make it at home” list. The bourbon lemon blend was warm, comforting and delicious. Similar to my longtime love the sidecar, this cocktail is now on my “always a good choice” list. Plus bartenders will actually know what I’m ordering when I ask for a whiskey sour.

Whiskey sours from the wonderful Vintage Mixer aka SLCFoodie.

Whiskey sours from the wonderful Vintage Mixer aka SLCFoodie.

Classic Whiskey Sour

2 oz bourbon or rye whiskey (Maker’s Mark)

1 oz fresh squeezed lemon juice

1 oz simple syrup (Easy to make just dissolve one part sugar in one part boiling water!)

Ice

Put all the ingredients in a shaker. Shake it up until it’s cold, strain into a fancy glass (Martini is the classic!) Sip away to the sounds of a lovely spring evening on the front porch.

I also knew from the first sip a whiskey sour would make a delectable dessert.

So the plan for dessert testing is loosely a lemon cupcake with bourbon frosting. I’m toying with the idea of adding a lemon bourbon curd as the filling for an extra touch of fancy. And of course, a maraschino cherry on top. I may have to whip up an extra batch or two to get the right blend of bourbon, lemon and sweet.

It’s going to be delightful!

Comment Here

