Amy Meets Grace, I Want to Meet Mindy

I am in love with Amy Poehler’s Smart Girls YouTube channel, where I came across this delightful gem with Grace Helbig from Daily Grace. Their both wonderfully funny and sweet. I’m so happy to see comedians helping each other. It is nice.

Speaking of comedians who make me laugh, are you watching The Mindy Project yet? You really should. You can even watch it free on Hulu or Fox. ‘Cause Fox is sometimes nice. It airs on Tuesday evenings by the way. The show was created by actor, writer and producer of The Office fame, Mindy Kaling.

Based on what I’ve seen of The Office, I did not think I would much care for Kaling’s newest project. But I gave it a shot because it’s not very often (or ever) women of color play the leading role of a series they created. I loved it. The first episode had me laughing out loud, and I have not stopped.

While Dr. Mindy is obsessed with finding the love of her life and living in a fals romantic comedy, Kaling proves she has the chops to write a sweet, funny sitcom. All on her own. New York Magazine’s profile on her made me fall in love with Kaling just a bit more.

And here’s comedian Hari Kondabolu from Totally Biased explaining hilariously why The Mindy Project is a landmark show.

Who knows maybe someday I’ll get to drink wine with Kaling. (And maybe Poehler and Helbig too, while I’m wishing for the impossible.) In the meantime, grab a bottle and catch up on the first season of The Mindy Project. You’ll be delighted.

In the meantime, you can read more of my thoughts on TV over at Screen Syndrome.

Comment Here

