Create more, consume less

For anyone who follows me around the internets you saw “create more, consume less” pop up on Monday as my new life mantra.

Admittedly, it’s more of a work mantra.

I find myself in this constant cocoon of internet “read this, watch this, click here, share here.” And I love it. But it also prevents me from accomplishing much in a day. I certainly need to do more to accomplish both short-term and long-term career goals.

To that end, I’ve decided to minimize the amount of time I spend reading email, Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and other lovely social media, webby places that I adore. I’m also cutting down TV watching, book reading time and whatnot as these activities probably shouldn’t be done while simultaneously sending out pitch emails.

The point is to stop trying so hard to multi-task and refocus on accomplishing one task well instead of dividing my attention between two places. I’ve never multi-tasked well, and I don’t know why I started getting into this habit of keeping five million tabs open while I’m researching. It isn’t effective. It’s hurtful.

This constant consumption of other creator’s words, artwork passively prevents me from creating my own works.

I still love finding cool new reads and videos online. I can’t help it. I need to find and share things now in a way I don’t think I ever would without the existence of Facebook.

That’s fine, there’s certainly a place for that kind of sharing and communication. At the moment, I’m exhausted by it. I want to stop long enough to finish a sentence, an article, a piece, to create something in its entirety without interruption.

It’s on me to stop opening those tabs, to stop clicking play, to create. I’m not sure how I’ll do it just yet beyond self-discipline. I suppose we’ll all see how this life experiment goes. Hopefully we’ll get to read my name in print, not self-published, a bit more frequently.

Comment Here

