Just slightly over a year ago, I was staying in suburbia trying to get my U.S. life back together. In the 12 months since, it seems like everything has changed and nothing has. I am closer to my family, we talk more, we see each other more. I’m more connected to the community that surrounds me.

I miss the open road, I miss the adventure of being foreign.

Then again, I still manage to hit to road plenty even when I’m home.

It’s been a tough year, but changes seem slower now. Maybe that’s what aging is–content with a world that moves at an easier pace. And for the first time in what feels like too long, I’ll be staying in place for more than 12 months. So this next adventure is a more stationary one and for me that’s different too.

 

Comment Here

