Writing Something New

I’ve had a story in my head for a long time about a family drama that unfolds transforming the characters across parallel time lines.

It’s a screen play.

I know it. I even know what the film looks like, the characters are unnamed but distinct. I know exactly the kind of story it is. It’s a drama, the kind of drama that makes people cry. The kind of scenes that are so tense the least funny line is hysterical because sometimes everyone needs to laugh. The kind of movie that is dark and depressing because it tells us some of the terrible truths about ourselves, about the kind of people we are, and let other people be because sometimes it’s easier to just let go than to try and change our environment.

It’s a story I’ve wanted to tell for so long, I can’t remember not thinking about it.

So I’m finally starting the screen play. And I’m terrified. I do not think of myself as a creative writer. I’m a journalist, I craft words from information obtained through interviews and research. I do not create a world and characters than present them with challenges.

I don’t know how.

But if there was ever a time for me to write something just because I want to, it may as well be now. I’ve joined a writing group, and everyone seems very supportive and creative. Hopefully other eyes and ears will help me see and hear how to make a story out of an idea. One that’s been haunting me for a decade.

P.S. You can expect to see excerpts and work shopped bits in the Sunday Shorts series on the site.

3 thoughts on “Writing Something New

Comment Here

