Utah’s Jell-o Love

This week, I haven’t experimented in the kitchen much. However I do have some cherries and pineapple that are screaming for some form of cupcake or crepes incarnation this weekend.

So instead of sharing a wonder from my kitchen with you, I’ll link to Slate’s article on just why Utah is so strongly associated with Jell-o. Turns out I can forever blame marketing, the Olympics and Mormons for making this gelatin grossness something to defend. I have lived in Utah most of my life and spent the majority of that time being Mormon. I have eaten my fair share of Jell-o, and I hate it. Trust me I don’t need another green jell-o with carrots dessert line to know, it is a terrible food.

In addition Jell-o is the official state snack. (Clearly this is a declaration in which I had no say.) There are so many things I didn’t know before I read that sentence. Do other state’s have official snacks? How do they choose a snack? Is anyone claiming chips and salsa? If not, I want all the chips and salsa to be mine.

The official snack of the state of Krista.

Mmmhmmm.

Comment Here

