For the first time in 2012, I drank a glass of wine, watched the sunset and sat on my porch. As the glass emptied of fruity white wine and  the sky filled with streaks of vermillion, I realized just how long it had been since I’ve seen the day come to a close from outside.

The 2008 vintage chardonnay comes from Australia’s Eden Valley and the Yalumba winery.

The wine rated a 90 from “Wine and Spirits”. Since I am not much of a wine drinker, as my empty bottle collection will attest, I rely heavily on other people’s opinions before spending my money on fermented grapes. Despite my reliance on description, this chardonnay surprised me with how absolutely delicious it was.

It has a nice citrus-y smell, pours out a gorgeous gold and tastes like summer. I enjoyed it with a simple white wine garlic chicken pasta for dinner. The wine was just enough for a warm buzz, and I’m looking forward to my next glass. My summer has just found a new go-to wine.

What’s your favorite summer wine?

Wine: Yalumba Chardonnay 2008

Cost: $14.99

Where: The Wine Store on 300 West

One thought on “A Perfect Night With Yalumba Chardonnay

  1. Sounds yummy. I’ll have to try. (I always go by the ratings, too! I don’t know enough about wine, and that needs to change).

Comment Here

