Going full-time

Travel changes us.

Anytime I go some place new, I return home a different person. That’s what I love about the road, the inspiration, self-discovery and exploration. Chicago brought me down a different path.

I’m not sure if it was the Roy Lichtenstein exhibit at the Art Institute or Craft Beer Week in Wicker Park, but I left the Windy City completely excited about life. Pleased with the world, I went to work at the restaurant where I’ve been serving food for about 9 months. This job was necessary for rent, student loans and other life bills in September.

Then I woke up the next day dreading the thought of work, hating my life and wishing I could move. When the gloominess cleared enough for me to evaluate, I realized the biggest difference from Chi to SLC was work.

So I quit.

I’m still there one night a week, but as of Monday I am a full-time freelance writer. And once again, I’m excited about life. But this time I didn’t leave town.

In just a few days of staying home and writing, I can already tell it has been a good change. I wake up excited for the day. I talk to people about writing, I interview interesting people about their work in Salt Lake City. It may not be a guaranteed income in the same way full-time regular employment is, but at least I’m not embarrassed to tell people what I do on a working day.

Comment Here

