This Week in Entertainment

Here it a quick list and summary of the stuff I’ve been reading, watching and listening to this week.

Television

For the sake of brevity, I’m going to focus only on HBO’s “Treme.” The show came out a few years ago, it consists fo just two seasons. It is incredible! The show is set in New Orleans just after Hurricane Katrina and focuses on an entourage of characters who are rebuilding their lives. The acting, writing and filming are phenomenal. I can’t say enough good things about this show, it will make you rethink everything you thought you knew about the South.

Podcast

Pop My Culture is my stand-by for feeling better after a long day of humans and food. Cole and Vanessa are hilarious! They bring in amazing guests, it’s an hour of fun, silly discussion of popular culture with people who inspire me creatively and humorously. Somehow I magically I always feel funnier and fuzzier after listening to the show.

Books

I’ve cut back on the reading this week focusing mostly on news and internets. But I have been slowly working my way through Cities of Salt. The book is a fascinating translation of a tome regarding a fictional history of the discovery of oil in the Middle East. The book is lyrical, moving and a wonderful piece of a culture I know nothing about. It inspires my travels, and I look forward to reading it each night.

Trust me that isn’t it, I spend way too much time on Tumblr for my own good. But there are so many pretty pictures! What media have you been into this week?

Comment Here

