There are few things in this world better than a great glass of wine. Unfortunately in the land of soju and beer, it can be a bit tough to find a decent bottle of wine for less than $25. Thankfully Chilean wines are willing to save me.

Anytime I feel a need for the comfort of wine, girl talk and too much TV. These lovely wines from South America are there for me. Sure, they aren’t as great as a Spanish granacha. (If anyone finds one in South Korea, please, please tell me.) But they are certainly better than the South Korean wines I can buy for just $6.

My current favorite is Rojo Cabernet Sauvignon. (For some reason, there are tons of merlots and cabs in this country, but very few other varieties of wines.) This wine comes from Chile and has  a strong fruit flavor. Lots of raspberry, blueberry and strawberry according to the label. It’s a bit sweeter than I might like, but for $12, I’m not going to complain too much.

I should add it’s a great wine for chocolate as well, which pretty much makes it perfect for a ladies’ night in along with a movie.

Comment Here

