The List–A work in progress

What with it being New Year’s and me being anti-New Year’s resolutions I thought it would be appropriate for me to update you (and myself) on my progress with The List.

So far, I’ve accomplished two goals.

1. Go to Thailand. Check.

2. Go skiing. Check.

Both were great adventures. I definitely think accomplishing both goals taught me that it’s okay to do the things that scare me.

Let’s face it, skiing is fucking terrifying. It’s you standing on two small pieces of plastic that will hurtle your butt down a mountain of ice and snow as fast as possible just hoping you don’t wipe out so hard you break anything (or crash into a tree and die).  However after two hours, many falls and a free ski lesson in pantomime from snow patrol, I’m looking forward to another skiing trip. Now I understand the adrenaline rush; I might just be a ski bum in training.

Five goals are currently in progress.

1. Read a book a week.

This has worked out to be more like a book every two weeks. So far I’ve read (or listened to) Shit My Dad Says, The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo, Cat’s Cradle, The Disappearing Spoon and Sex at Dawn. Now for one sentence reviews in backwards order.

Sex and Dawn is funny, interesting and science-y if you are at all interested in learning more about the science of sex or if you just like sex.

I wouldn’t recommend The Disappearing Spoon unless you really, really love science, specifically, the periodic table.

Cat’s Cradle. If you haven’t read this book yet, you should feel deeply ashamed.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo would be better if I could read and understand it in it’s original Swedish.

Shit My Dad Says. I could not stop laughing long enough to breathe.

Right now I’m reading Korea’s Place in the Sun and  Gregor, The Overlander.

2. Watch Ebert’s 100 Greatest Movies.

So far I’ve seen 25 of the films. What makes me most anxious about this goal is meeting my July 2011 deadline. That means I need to watch about three films a week. I’ve been watching one every week or so. The only reason I’ve seen 25 is because I’m not going to watch the films on the list I’ve already seen, except Star Wars: A New Hope.

3. Pay off all my student loans in four years.

Obviously it hasn’t been four years. But I have managed to make three monthly payments of $690 which puts me right on track for paying off my loans by November 2014. It’s gonna be one sweet month for celebrations in 2014.

4. Learn to knit or crochet.

I’ve been working on learning to knit. I find it impossibly hard and haven’t made much progress past casting on. If anyone in Korea would like to pass on a free knitting lesson or two, please, please tell me. I’ll buy you coffee and booze. (How can you pass up that offer?)

5. Speak basic Korean.

I’ve been doing short lessons with Mango Languages from Salt Lake County Library. The program is really great. But honestly, I’m only making progress because I’m forced into daily interactions with Koreans just by living here. I really need to focus so I can start learning more. My next step is to make flashcards for myself as I make English ones for my youngest students. (I already have to get the English translated to Korean so I may as well just take it home.)

Now for the goals I should be working on.

1. Learn to make kimchi jiggae. I haven’t been cooking at all these past two months. I really should get on that. I think I’ve eaten enough kimchi jiggae I can figure out the ingredients. It won’t be hard to make I just need to get my butt in gear and do it. That’s it! I’m having a kimchi weekend soon.

2. Freelance like it’s my job. I really haven’t done any freelance work since Novemeber and the worst part is I’m not even trying. I really need to step it up in this area. I know I don’t want to teach again. I know I want to make enough money freelance writing to be able to travel so what am I doing? Not writing! Fear of rejection gets me every few months or so, but it’s definitely time to suck it up and dig in again.

Now it wouldn’t be much of New Year’s post without my goals for 2011, would it? So here you go, the goals I want to accomplish in the next year.

1-Road trip across America or write/produce for television

2-Visit Hong Kong

3-Visit Taiwan

4-Visit Jeju-do and Busan

5-Publish somewhere my mother will read i.e. not online

6-Make another movie

7-Write a feature length screenplay

8-Watch Ebert’s 100 Greatest Movies (original list) by July 2011

9-Go snowboarding

10-Fly in a hot air balloon

11-Go surfing

12-Eat blow fish in Japan

All those travel goals make me nervous, I’m not sure I’ll have the money, but I’ll certainly try to make it every where I can.

2 thoughts on “The List–A work in progress

  1. great list! Let us know how freelancing goes. It’s hard not to be tempted by magazines and specialty publications. I bet there are publications that would love to have a fresh, funky perspective from Korea!

Comment Here

