Thailand is heaven for street eats.

Open air street vendors set up shop with just a few dishes on the menu and a few tables for seating customers. All customers are invited to sitting with strangers as everyone digs in. After my time in Korea, I found it odd I didn’t pay until after I had eaten my food at every street vendor. But I did my best to follow local customs eating every dish–noodles, spring rolls and rice–with a fork and a spoon. And paying once I finished my meal.

Wandering in Silom, I found a great street shop. I ordered the famous dish. I think it was guay mun gai. The newspaper clippings on the wall seemed to indicate it was the best place in Bangkok for guay mun gai or whatever it was I was eating.

At any rate, it was a plate full of delicious rice and veggies cooked with beef and a thick sauce. Almost like a gravy. Mmm…a mildly spicy flavorful savory gravy of deliciousness.

That was just the beginning of many delicious street eats. The cheap fresh fruit was simply amazing! I ate pineapple, mango, oranges and limes nearly every walking moment. Then there were the awesome fresh juice carts where they would take the fruit I specified and mix it up into a delicious fresh slushie.

I also tried a few different versions of fish ball noodles, sampled some fresh water baby crab and ate more pad thai then I can remember.

My only regret is that I didn’t eat more food in Thailand. If I ever go back, I will definitely have to make more of an effort to eat more of the local cuisine.

Comment Here

