A brief travel tale in photos because I love you and I’m lazy.

Just one of the many incredible views from the tour boat on the Chang Phrayo river as we made our way to the Old City.

The spires surrounding Wat Pho.

The back of the Reclining Buddha’s head at Wat Pho.

Shooting light at Wat Arun.

My favorite sight was definitely Wat Arun. The crumbling disrepair, the soft gray light and the lack (or at least fewer) tourists made it a great photo spot.

The statues guard every entrance to the Grand Palace.

A small wat next to the Grand Palace.

The actual Grand Palace.

Another wat at the Grand Palace.

My favorite statue. These half man half bird statues guard many of the wats in Bangkok. This one is at the Temple of the Emerald Buddha on the same compound as the Grand Palace.

These photos in no way do justice to the scale of the three major sights I visited. The Reclining Buddha was so large I’m still not sure I believe it’s real. I was right there with the little girls who “oohed” and “aahed” every step through his temple at Wat Pho.

Wat Arun was absolutely marvelous. It definitely inspired me to visit Angkor Wat at some point in the future since the Cambodians actually built this temple when they were in power back in the day.

Finally, The Grand Palace is a sight most tourists go to. After all it is where the Thai royal family ruled and lived for many, many years. The scale of the compound is enormous. I was so overwhelmed by everything I sort of aimlessly wandered with a sweet Welsh girl until we were so sunburned we decided to call it an afternoon.

Posting these photos I’m truly amazed by how much I saw in just one weekend in Bangkok. I can’t believe this is my life!

3 thoughts on “Bangkok, Thailand–The Sights

Comment Here

