Monday, Monday

Unlike most of my lackadaisical Mondays, I’m attacking this Monday with a looong list. The List can be read in its entirety over here.

I thought it would be nice to provide some explanation for The List. In essence, The List is a place for me to write, publish and see my goals. I like goals. I think they give life purpose, meaning and contribute to my overall happiness.

Despite appearances I try to avoid as much god talk as possible. For one thing it makes me uncomfortable. For another people have strong feelings about the invisible man in the sky so it’s tough to be fair and listen (or in this case, read) to people who have opinions different from your own.

When I started to question God, religion and the whole Jesus thing, I was nervous about what this meant for my life. What exactly was the purpose of everything? I never thought about it before, I knew it was one of those questions Mormon apologetics had prepared me to answer with thoughts of heaven. But since I was already doubting the existence of such an after life. I needed another answer something that could comfort me without the need for a divine being.

Ava once asked, “Why can’t the point of life be living?”

And she’s right. The point of life is to live it. As Hunter S. Thompson said,

Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!”

Since coming to that conclusion about life’s purpose, I’ve changed the questions I ask before I do most things. Instead of thinking about how a choice will affect my relationship with God and my place in the afterlife, I think about what kind of story this choice will mean I get to tell at the end of life. And you know, what I’ve found?

I try new things.

I scare the shit out of myself.

I make mistakes.

I take responsiblity.

I learn my lessons.

I try to do better next time.

I’m daring.

I’m adventurous.

I’m happier than I was when I worried about God. I’m not going to suggest that a god-less life is the happiest life for everyone. I believe some people truly find thoughts of the afterlife and God comforting in a way I cannot begin to comprehend. I also believe everyone wants a purpose in life. (I like Kurt Vonnegut’s explanation best.)

I just happen to be one of those people who finds purpose and meaning in the daily act of living. Humanity may not be perfect, the world may not be perfect, but damn this world, this life and the people in it are awesome.

And The List helps me focus on the good things in life, see as much of the world as I can and appreciate the good humans have done.

Now that it’s Monday, it’s time for me to get back to work checking those goals of The List so I can tell at least one good yarn when I’m a crazy grandma with a dog and cocktail.

It’s gonna be good.

Comment Here

