When late nights become early mornings

Post-poker and a drink too many Neighbor Boy and I decided it would be a great idea to try out the bar across the street from us. I was starving as I had eaten dinner on top of being drunk-hungry so I probably would’ve eaten anything.

When we walked in the owner was happy to have us. Apparently 2 a.m. is an acceptable time to arrive at a bar in South Korea.  (Take that, Utah liquor laws!)  We tried out best to order of the menu although it was devoid of pictures and had no English. Pretty soon we had meat grilling and side dishes aplenty. The bulgogi was amazing! It is some of the best I’ve had in Korea. Even the sesame leaves soaked in soy sauce were a nice extra touch to the meal.

Soon the waitress decided to come chat with us. She kept offering us more beer and food. And at some point there was a bottle of soju. We kept eating and drinking as we tried our best to have a conversation in English, Korean and sign language.

Soon the waitress was telling me, “You beautiful. Small face, big eyes.”

“Kamhasamnida,” I said. Then she moves her hands down her body.

“You.” Her hands make a very curved line.

“Me.” Her hands make a very straight line.

“No, no, no.” I make the same curved motion twice indicating we have about the same body type. Neighbor Boy tries to tell her that for a Korean she is curvaceous. He’s right. She is.

Then the waitress starts talking about boobs. Boobs seem to be a recurring conversation around here, specifically my breasts. So I wasn’t entirely surprised by the turn in conversation. She points at my chest. “Big. Me small.” She’s not actually that small so I try to tell her that no she has great breasts. And then she asks me what my cup size is. Again, this happens every so often so I probably wasn’t as surprised as I should’ve been. Not surprisingly, Koreans don’t measure bras the same way Americans do so we don’t know a shared language to express our mutual sizes. Soon the conversation turned from breasts to countries and we spent a good ten minutes trying to figure out how to say USA in Korean. We never did manage to.

Next the waitress had us try a rice soup. She said it’s a war food–it seems to just be fried rice with hot water. The dish was very bland and boring, but an interesting explanation for the foods’ origin made it a fun adventure. We also had cucumbers soaked in vinegar. The cucumbers aren’t in the vinegar long enough to pickle, just long enough to absorb some sourness. I loved the idea and I can’t wait to try them at home.

Eventually we ran out of beer, food and conversation.

I looked across the patio to our apartments and said, “It’s morning. We should go home.” Korean sunrises are beautiful, but not beautiful enough to keep me out of bed.

I’ll be back to the bar for more bulgogi and beer soon.

2 thoughts on “When late nights become early mornings

Comment Here

