Salpresso

I desperately needed coffee one day so I walked until I found this lovely cafe.

Salpresso is typical of the “best” Korea has to offer. It’s very clean, very new and very modern. To me, Salpresso symbolizes what Koreans seem to want foreigners to think of their country. The push for new is pretty strong and I’m just beginning to notice the emphasis on modern.

The quiet of the cafe was surprising. Not a soul was inside, in the middle of the afternoon. I’ve been told Korean women like to go out to coffee shops all dressed up for an afternoon chat. So it’s rare to find an empty cafe in Chungju on any given afternoon–minimal crowds, yes, empty, no.

The menu is in English/Italian and has photos too.The owner speaks wonderful English so ordering was no trouble at all. Truly, a foreigner’s dream come true for a coffee shop. I branched away from my copee Americano to try out a caramel macchiato. It was wonderful! Just the right amount of caramel, topped with a healthy dose of whipped cream. The espresso was delicious and properly brewed. Truly delightful!

I had also ordered a vegetable pizza cone to-go. I was intrigued both by the photo and the name. I absolutely love the tiny box the pizza cone came in. It was so cute! It made me want to order to-go again just so I could have another box.

The pizza cone came out all gooey cheese and green pizza crust. I’m think the crust is made of rice, but I’m not sure. And I have no reasonable explanation for the green tint either. It just was. Since I had ordered the vegetable pizza, I expected it to be vegetarian. It wasn’t. There was sausage on my pizza slice. The pizza slice was rolled into a cone than served in a small cup.

The pizza was surprisingly tasty although the rice crust was an unusual texture. I love Salpresso and will soon be back for more.

2 thoughts on “Salpresso

Comment Here

