My day usually starts with making myself breakfast.

Since I’m only feeding myself, food has a tendency to last much longer so if I buy eggs (they come in tens), it’s a week long commitment. The same goes for a small loaf of bread and a bunch of bananas. For the past couple weeks it’s been toast, eggs, fruit and coffee for breakfast.

There are a couple of things that make my very Western breakfast different than what I would eat the States. I’ve never seen butter here, but I can buy butter bread. I think the butter bread with jam makes a decent substitution. Instead of butter, I use soy bean oil to grease the pan for the fried eggs. It definitely changes the flavor of the eggs, they come out with a more acidic taste. Then comes the salt and pepper, which are both very different than my past salt and pepper experiences. There are dozens of different salts available at the supermarket here. I have a sea salt. It’s almost sweet, it’s so subtle. The pepper looks like what I’m used to, but the flavor is much stronger.

The bananas are small and sweet. I love the bananas here. Because the flavor is packed into a smaller fruit it comes out tasting much more banana-like.

The coffee is finally hot, black and strong.

In the end, all the differences make it a breakfast worth getting up for.

2 thoughts on “Breakfast of champions

  1. man, i envy your metabolism. i stick with high-fiber cereal and coffee … keeps things regular, if you get my drift. plus i have to stay full til afternoon, which is always a challenge.

Comment Here

