Soju cocktails

Soju–clear, cheap and potent. And best mixed.

The Korean version of vodka is clear, but it definitely has a flavor. I still haven’t figured out yet what flavor that is. But it’s a drink best shot and eaten with spicy food. However I’ve done some experimenting and mixed a few glasses for a winning cocktail. At least, a cocktail good enough for the inexperienced American palate. The following is my list of my favorite cocktails (so far).

1. Lemon soju

This was my first cocktail combination because I couldn’t bring myself to fork over 56,000 won for a bottle of Hennesy and intead spent 2,000 won on some soju and lemonade.

It came out better than I expected. The bite of the lemon smoothed out the bite of the soju for me.

2. Kiwi soju

I tried out this cocktail at a Japanese chain restaurant found throughout Asia called “Fish & Grill.” The cocktail was easily the best part of our visit to this restaurant. Kiwis, soju and ice were mashed up in a pitcher to make an alcoholic smoothie. It was sweet and delicious.

3. Yogurt soju

Another foreigner invented this cocktail. It’s a mix of Korean yogurt (thin and sweet), soju and cider (sparkling apple juice). I liked this cocktail more than I thought I would. It was a much better way to enjoy soju rather than stuffing myself full of kimchi.

All in all, I prefer soju cocktails to straight soju these days. I just need to remember to bring my own mixers next time we go to the bar.

Comment Here

