Recently I found myself in need of some comfort. So I headed to a chain cafe I’ve seen around Korea called Paris Baguette. The shop closest to me is only a 10 minute walk away.

I took a few minutes to look around. I was thrilled to see all kinds of pastries and breads. They had croissants, baguettes, bagels, cookies and cakes. All kinds of yumminess stacked around just waiting to be eaten. They also had several different types of pre-made sandwiches. And then there were a few things that I suspect have been made in hopes of catering to Korean taste buds. There was one pastry in particular that appeared to be a pizza made with pita bread, hot dogs (or sausages), chili sauce and cheese with a good helping of peppers too. Now I’m not opposed to jalapeno bread, but this specific combination just struck me as “only in Korea.”

I eventually settled on a sandwich, cookies and a coffee drink. It cost me about $8 and was enough food for both lunch and dinner.

I decided to stay at the cafe since it was relatively quiet and seemed like a good place to sit, eat and read. There were only two booths, which seems pretty typical of these fast-food style restaurants here. I headed for the one near the window and set up camp. Meanwhile, I noticed that the four or five other customers who came in while I was eating and reading did not stay and instead opted for to-go.

My sandwich wasn’t great. It had sat for too long in the cooler and gotten soft. But I was just so happy to have a sandwich with mayo, ham, mustard, lettuce and tomatoes, I didn’t mind.

The cookies were Pepperridge Farm cookie good, but at about half the price and totally worth it.

My coffee drink was like all coffee drinks, I’ve had in Korea, too sweet, too burnt and just enough like actual coffee to make me miss the real thing.

But since I went to Paris Baguette looking for reminders of home, it certainly accomplished the task. In that respect, Paris Baguette is a wonderful shop. I was able to relax comfortably for an hour with a good book and decent food without feeling out of place. What feels like a major accomplishment.

Comment Here

