Life: It’s salty like that

Today as I was leaving the City of Salt for the City of Seoul I couldn’t help but cry.

The plane was taking off and the gradual rise showed off the Great Salt Lake and the city skyline for one last brief moment. My last look wasn’t the most beautiful view of the city. I love Salt Lake in the four years I’ve lived in this valley of sinners and saints I’ve fallen in love with all her quirks.

And yes, by the way, Salt Lake City is totally a kick ass lady city.

I can’t believe I’m going to be so far away for so long. There are things I know I will miss. Taco stands, Farmer’s Market, book stores with books in English, my apartment (I already miss it!), coffee shops, bars (with my favorite booze) and coffee.

Things I won’t miss. Feeling like a criminal every time I go to the liquor store to stock up, smog, feeling like a mormon any Sunday I choose to wear a dress, remembering which stores and restaurants are closed Sundays and early nights, smog, ski bums (except one) and bad drivers who like to almost hit pedestrians.

So you know it evens out. I’m on my way to figure the quirks of another city by mountains and rivers with lots of active people, only they love their martial arts.

I’ll let you know what I learn about Chungju.

Happy reading!

One thought on “Life: It’s salty like that

  1. i have a feeling crazy drivers might still be an issue. can’t wait to see pics and more about your adventures! did they give you the crazy guide to dating overseas? My friend who’s teaching in Japan got it, and it’s magical.

Comment Here

